Imagine! Grammar Rules Made Fun

Booher's Rules of Business Grammar

Business Grammar

Who reads grammar books for fun? Well, I do, but I have an ulterior motive. I want to know “Do other experts agree with me on the fine points of language usage?” Especially I want to know, “Do they agree with my Word Trippers?”

So I spent an enjoyable two hours perusing Dianna Booher’s fresh new grammar book, Booher’s Rules of Business Grammar: 101 Fast and Easy Ways to Correct the Most Common Errors, just released by McGraw-Hill. This light-hearted volume focuses on common errors with simple explanations. 

Dianna even makes grammar rules entertaining, giving readers imaginative ways to remember them. Each of the 101 quick-read chapters (1-3 pages each) features a mini-story, a visual trigger, and a memory box to tie the lesson together.

I especially like her chapter titles that pinpoint misuses in quotation marks, such as “If I Was You” and “Just Between You and I” and “The Team Played Real Good.” And yes, I saw that we’re in agreement on key points-and that her rules don’t give in to common misusage.

If you don’t easily “get” grammar, this book provides explanations from a variety of angles in a clear conversational tone, as if Dianna were (not was) teaching someone new to English in person.

Yes, she does weave in terms like “nominative case” and “subjunctive tense,” but knowing proper names isn’t essential to understanding these rules and they won’t bog you down.

Now, if you think you “get” grammar pretty well, I challenge you to test that assumption! Go to and take the online Grammar Quiz (click on the link above). That will give you a benchmark score.

Then read this book and take the quiz again. My guess? You’ll boost your score at lot.

More important, you’ll boost your ability to write correctly!

2 responses to “Imagine! Grammar Rules Made Fun

  1. If you were like me in school, then, Barbara, you probably enjoyed diagramming sentences, too! I don’t think my kids did that in school, but they should have–it was the absolute best way to learn the parts of speech, and fun as well.

    Jackie

  2. I dont appreciate grammar books when I was in grade school and now I realized that I got a lot of catching since I’m not that good in writing.

Leave a Reply

